Church is where the home is

Imagine my surprise as I find a news article demonstrating a point I’ve made in a previous post, and on the same general subject. It didn’t take long. Yeah, imagine that.

The reverend of a St. Paul church says he needs to raise $200,000 to pay off a church loan after most of his followers left because of his support for gay marriage. The Rev. Oliver White runs Grace Community United Church of Christ in St. Paul. The 69-year-old said he needs to raise the money by June 30. “We lost our income when we lost a number of people from our congregation.” White said.

If it’s the money that fuels the church then it’s understandable when the money runs out that the church loses its home. For if the building is the church’s home then it is predicated upon something the Lord never intended. On the other hand the church should be at home in the same place Christ lives. In imitational church the pandering goes on to keep the lights on and the bills paid. Unfortunately, following the Word of God diminishes and becomes compromised before such requirements. Such pandering, in my opinion, keeps the people of God from realizing the true nature of church.

The best thing about all this with Grace Community is that they could lose the church building. If that were to happen perhaps they’ll discover where their heart really is.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 05/31/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. defrostingwindows

    “the church should be at home in the same place Christ lives.”…well said!

Leave a Reply

