Enjoy it. It’ll pass.

Sterilize the woman who has had an abortion.

If a woman doesn’t want children, eliminate their ability to reproduce. Their “breed” would eventually die out leaving women with genuine maternal instincts to care for the children in society. Sterilization also has the side benefit of eliminating the issue of repeat abortions.

It’s always seemed like a practical solution to me.

I wrote this on The American View user forum back in 2009. Yeah, it sounds a little crazy taken out of the context of an exchange on a forum. Any comment, taken out of the context of a conversation, can be misused, twisted or maligned in such as way as to cast aspersions. It happens all the time in politics. I guess I just have an oblique way of approaching others comments online. I’ve found that many people are either too lazy or judgmental to think. It’s a pity more people don’t understand sarcasm or irony these days. The mind needs the mental gymnastics on occasion.

The forum archives aren’t on the web anymore, so far as I can tell. I can’t say for certain, but as I recall the thread had to do with the issue of abortion and some were suggesting how to deal with it. The people on this forum were primarily what could be considered Christian Conservative with a smattering of fundamental Constitutionalists. Many of the sentiments throughout this forum, and a few on this particular thread as I recall, I could agree with. However there was a general tone in this thread expressing the idea of capital punishment (death penalty) for the woman as well as the doctor performing the operation, as a deterrent to abortion. Some, I think, even gave a biblical basis for such a position. Enter my remarks above.

Rather than accept executing offenders who had abortions I thought I’d be tongue-in-cheek by offering an idea that would be sarcastic enough for them to catch themselves in an untenable position. I thought, if they want to use government authority to execute abortion offenders, why not take a more “humanitarian” approach and sterilize them instead. To my recollection, they turned on my comment and some directly against me, claiming I was being unbiblical, among other things. I had hoped they would see the ridiculousness of their own position. Surely they’d see how abhorrent using the state to murder is. On the other hand, many of these folks don’t see a line between the Bible and politics.

So, forward to an evening a few days ago when I found this “enchanting” (trying to make my sarcasm more obvious now) little site called “Fundies Say The Darndest Things” or http://www.fstdt.com in URL. Apparently “fundies” is short for fundamentalist Christians. I found two of their Top 100 list from Vox Day. As someone who has read his weekly WND column and daily blog, I would say Vox isn’t a fundy. The commentaries on the site are from those who seem to be left liberal atheists or agnostics. Of course I’m going here because my “The American View” comment somehow found its way to their site, and their responses to my comment was enjoyable to read.

ANON: Having abortions isn’t genetic, you stupid f*&%$ng moron.

I’m deeply honoured (Still working the sarcasm angle.) The MPAI principle (Most People Are Idiots) is prevalent, perhaps seemingly more so due to social media and forums like these. They lack erudition as well. Yes, I know having abortions isn’t any more genetic than buying a chicken sandwich from Chick-fil-a (Even given the recent Chick-fil-a Appreciation Day, which phenomenon I’d like to comment more on when the dust settles. If someone like this is to understand the use of a metaphor such as dust settling.) Maybe if this son of a biscuit eating moron could preserve the last few brain cells they have by putting the bottle down they would understand that was the point. If it wasn’t enough to put “breed” in quotes to help get it then their case of rectal/cranial inversion may be too far gone to cure.

David G:  Sadly this is the nicest guy in that thread. Everyone else is calling for the execution of people getting abortions.
Thankfully, this helped jog my memory of the thread, but it wasn’t nice I was going for. I was trying to get the The American View to see Their Heinous View of ending abortions and even the abortion industry through the exaggerated means of government forced sterilizations. This was something another FSTDT commenter managed to pickup but didn’t have the benefit of the context of my comment.
Xotan: Make way for a Godwin: This is a typical Nazi-style solution, don’t you think?
One of the commenters even posted a “lovely” picture of Adolf Hitler as a tribute to Elmo (sarcasm). A couple of others suggested I might be expressing hidden resentment toward my parents for my name. Elmo takes such abuse. Then, as if their insults weren’t extreme enough, I read this.
Old Viking: Deep thought and true compassion. Must be a fundy clergyman.
About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 08/14/2012, in Commentary, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

