Democracy Marches On

Jimmy Green’s stepdaughter had never voted before. The 57-year-old is mentally disabled, and Green said she doesn’t understand the concept of casting a ballot.

But this week, she called her parents to say she had voted for President Obama. The care home in Fayetteville where she lives registered its residents to vote and drove them to the polls, Green said.

Isn’t this what our soldiers have been fighting for on foreign soil? Voting isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, particularly by Christians and churches. We’re impressed to vote out of some patriotic duty. Efforts like this make me stop and wonder how misguided believers can be. People forget that communist countries put the charade of voting front and center as well. My one vote won’t make any difference, except in the unlikely event of a local election with small turnout.

I’ll be glad when this is over next Wednesday and no one is paying attention to the fact of the nation being on its current course toward self destruction no matter who is in office.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 11/04/2012, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

