Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

It was only a matter of time before the bursting of the bubble for hard-core conservatives led to cries of secession. To be fair, blue-staters were saying similar things back in 2004 after Bush’s re-election, but the geographical ironies were perhaps less rich then, since this year the electoral map looks suspiciously like slave states and free states lining up in opposition.

I guess history is like the weather. Wait around long enough and things will change back to the way they were. Mentioning the word ‘secession’ seemed ridiculous to many, but not to me. Even as recently as six years ago I talked about it. I expect it will take place, just not the way everyone imagines with stirring speeches from state capitols and militias being formed. Of course I don’t expect anything of any consequence to happen with this ridiculous petitioning drive. It’s like saying, “Please, may we leave?” Can anyone imagine it would be that easy, or that the White House is going to legitimately respond to such a petition?

Yes, I signed the original Louisiana petition, but only to be counted among the thousands of others. Glenn Beck seems to have concerns about that…

“Can I ask you a quick question? Who thinks it’s a good idea to put your name on a petition secede from the United States of America and give it to President Obama?” Glenn said on radio this morning. “You’re putting your name on a list that goes directly to the White House and you’re putting your name on a list and say ‘Yep, I believe we should secede. I believe there should be a civil war.’ That’s really smart…if you think you’re going to have secession without war, you’re crazy. You’re not going to. What you are going to have instead, I believe, more likely than secession is you’re going to have a significant disruption in the lifestyle of the United States of America.”

In the first place, why should putting a name to a petition and submitting it to the White House be of any more concern than the dozens of other ways the government already knows what it does about us? He may think it ironically dumb, but what about the other government intrusions into our private lives. So what if they know about a name on a secession petition. I for one welcome the identification. If they choose to come for me because of it, doesn’t that add to the picture of the totalitarian government it’s becoming?

Secondly, Glenn’s got a mixed up idea about secession. Secession isn’t civil war. What the South fought for in the 1860’s was self determination, not to wrest control of the Union federal government from the Lincoln administration. Yes, we will have substantial disruption of lifestyle, but that will come about mostly from the economic shift and it will precipitate the secession I expect will happen, not the other way around. Don’t expect some North South geographic kind of secession either, at least not in the beginning. As I see it, we’re already experiencing a political fragmentation, but I see more fundamental ideological breaks in the future.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 11/15/2012, in Government, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

