I’m libertarian

I wouldn’t have anticipated it two decades ago, but I’m now libertarian in my political thinking. There was a time when I followed the christian conservative, Republican crowd. There was a time, but ideologies evolve. Make no mistake, I’m not Libertarian, but libertarian. I don’t follow the party’s abortion position, for example. But I’m very comfortable taking a libertarian political position, and there’s one particular reason. I believe in an evil so insidious, so pervasive, as to corrupt our very thinking.

Take this suggestion as an example:

I’ve got a simple idea: Let’s give up on the Constitution. I know, it sounds radical, but it’s really not. Constitutional disobedience is as American as apple pie. For example, most of our greatest Presidents — Jefferson, Lincoln, Wilson, and both Roosevelts — had doubts about the Constitution, and many of them disobeyed it when it got in their way.

This is our country. We live in it, and we have a right to the kind of country we want. We would not allow the French or the United Nations to rule us, and neither should we allow people who died over two centuries ago and knew nothing of our country as it exists today. If we are to take back our own country, we have to start making decisions for ourselves, and stop deferring to an ancient and outdated document.

Scripture states that there is a way which seems right unto man, but it leads to death (Proverbs 14:12). The idea to give up on the Constitution may seem innocent enough, but it is the way to destruction. The presidents the gentleman names were among the worst offenders of constitutional precepts, and the current usurpations by U.S. Federal government are well beyond the restraints of the Constitution. The suggestion to leave the Constitution behind because of the outmoded thinking of the original founders comes from the myopic, dimwitted thinking of people like this professor. The founders mayn’t have known anything of our country as it exists today, as he says, but they certainly knew exactly the tendencies and evil of human nature, and for this the Constitution was designed.

Theirs mayn’t have been a perfect governmental system, but it was ingenious in its design to impede the evil of man from overshadowing government. Nothing short of the Spirit of the Lord could have prevented it altogether. Thomas Paine and John Adams considered the idea of a government of laws and not of men. The concept was that no one could be above the law, but that everyone was subject to it in the same way. I believe this thinking was to keep the evil of man in abeyance.

Now, along comes this professor suggesting we take back the country, make our own decisions and let go of a Constitution designed to hold back the tide of evil. I seem to recall a point in the narrative of Scripture in which the Israelites refused the leadership of God and wanted kings as other peoples. The U.S. government and its people have virtually disposed of the semblance of ruling by laws and not by men. But I am also libertarian because God believes in freedom.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 01/27/2013, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. defrostingwindows

    Right there with you.

Leave a Reply

