A Review: A bible too far

Too far from the Christian worn path, that is. And I won’t dignify it by capitalizing the “B”, because a bible is defined as a text authoritative in its field, and this one is far from authoritative about THE Bible. The miniseries misnomered “The Bible” has so little to do with the actual Bible. The characters are the same, but that’s where the similarity ends.

I’ve watched as much of three episodes as I could tolerate before just giving up on the proverbial train wreck. There is so much Biblically wrong with it I’d need several blog posts to explain, and I’m not inclined to expend my time and energy dismantling it.There’s the complete bypassing of the story of Joseph, which is important to the biblical narrative as to how the children of Israel got to Egypt in the first place, let alone being a redemptive story in itself. At Jesus’ baptism by John, none of this “As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. And a voice from heaven said, This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.” (Matthew 3:16:17 NIV) happened, indicating non-trinitarian T.D. Jakes’ influence. Also, there is the first encounter Peter has with Jesus in which Jesus’ response to Peter asking Him what he is going to do if he follows him is, “Change the world.” Jesus didn’t come to change the world. He came, “…to seek and to save that which was lost.” (Luke 19:10) Essentially, it’s a historical revisionist’s dream, eliminating allegories and signs of redemption and steering the story into a series of banal leadership vignettes.

Suffice it to say three of the principal theological advisers to Mark Burnett and Roma Downey’s production were mega church pastors T.D. Jakes, Rick Warren and Joel Osteen. That should tell the average believer enough about the obvious bias the series has toward modalism, the post-modern success gospel and Warren’s dangerous leadership principles which seem to have some basis in the führerprinzip.

Perhaps if The Bible miniseries led people to actually read the Bible for themselves it would be of benefit. Then people would realize how divergent not only the miniseries is from the real Word of God, but how far astray Burnett, Downey, Jakes, Warren and Osteen are from orthodox christianity.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 03/30/2013, in Commentary, Scripture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

