It’s not a good ideal

Here’s one who has raised his hand declaring he’s different. He’s a different one, alright.

I’m a 34-year-old NBA center. I’m black. And I’m gay.

I [Jason Collins] didn’t set out to be the first openly gay athlete playing in a major American team sport. But since I am, I’m happy to start the conversation. I wish I wasn’t the kid in the classroom raising his hand and saying, “I’m different.” If I had my way, someone else would have already done this. Nobody has, which is why I’m raising my hand.

Of course there are two ways of looking at this. One is to view it as progress toward a better ideal. To that view it makes sense that “raising my hand” would be good as it simply confirms the preconceived philosophy that homosexuality is rooted in humanity; that homosexuality is intrinsic to the human condition and as such isn’t to be scorned as depraved. So when someone of high stature comes along and lauds the move, it lends more general social acceptance to the idea.

“He seems like a terrific young man, and I told him I couldn’t be prouder,” Obama said. “One of the extraordinary measures of progress that we’ve seen in this country has been the recognition that the LGBT community deserves full equality

What is “full equality”? Isn’t that a euphemism for equal social construct, which means that there’s no equality other than that humanly created? Bear in mind that LGBT stands for lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transgendered, but in terms of keeping these concepts socially acceptable “LGBT” makes it palatable. The barriers come down, they say, and it’s for this reason. To level the field for homosexuals isn’t the end. It’s just a mile-marker down the slippery slope. What about pederasts? Why wouldn’t they be deserving of “full equality”? Jason Collins declaring his homosexuality is OK, I suppose, but I’m waiting on the first necrophiliac NFL player to come out of the coffin, as it were.

A surprising thing about all this is that male homosexuals make up at best estimates about 20% of the population, but it’s more likely less than that. For the constant homosexuality media bombardment one would think America is practically saturated with them. So why the intense interest in all this for a small minority?

Because people have their ideals, and that world is filled with rainbows and buttercups and unicorns. There is no divorce because movie happy endings are persistent reality. Homophobia, whatever that means, is a condition for those who don’t understand that homosexuality is just another way to love. The president thinks he’s terrific. Terrific enough have romantic affectations for a woman for 8 years while keeping his lust hidden.

The woman who was once engaged to NBA star Jason Collins tells TMZ, she had NO CLUE he was gay at the time of their relationship … in fact, she only found out last weekend … and she was floored.

At the time of their breakup, Carolyn says Jason gave a bunch of BS reasons for calling it quits … and she could never understand what went wrong, until now.

Carolyn — who’s back on the hunt for Mr. Right — tells us, “It’s very emotional for me as a woman to have invested 8 years in my dream to have a husband, soul mate, and best friend in him. So this is all hard to understand.”
Ironic, isn’t it? It’s because the modern concept of love is tortured and misunderstood. Lust becomes enticing as love’s doppelganger. More things suffer than ethics and morals when absolutes become dismantled and relativism takes hold.
About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 05/03/2013, in Commentary, Society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

