From infallibility to insanity

Atheists should be seen as good people if they do good, Pope Francis has said in his latest urging that people of all religions, and none, work together.

He told the story of a Catholic who asked a priest if even atheists had been redeemed by Jesus. “Even them, everyone,” the pope answered, according to Vatican Radio. “We all have the duty to do good,” he said.

What precisely then is the value or advantage of being Catholic? If atheists get to stay home on Sundays, watch football in their underpants, as Steve Martin would suggest, and be counted as good and redeemed by Jesus, why would any one want to follow the dictates and regimen of the Catholic church?

There is no one good. Not one. Yes, I know the Bible says it, but I think I could tell from empirical evidence. I think I can tell that there isn’t such a person on the face of this earth. We’re all sinful. Some succumb to evil more than others, and so are more inclined to evil works, but it’s simply stupid to consider people as good if they do good. I really don’t care how much money they’ve given to the poor or in how many soup kitchens they’ve worked.

The quality or condition or state of good is so relative in human terms as to be completely worthless. I prefer to observe what God calls good. If scripture is any measure of that then calling atheists fools leaves little doubt as to what category in which they fall. Let me just lay it out. The pope is a fool. Maybe even just as much a fool as the atheists he wants to coddle. Besides our duty isn’t to do good, it’s to be good. Scripture defines that quite well.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 05/23/2013, in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

