Letting them know, better late than never…

What can people do to protect their privacy from massive data-mining efforts by U.S. and other intelligence services? The answer is not much, short of going off the grid completely.

Rather than retreating to a cabin in the wilderness, swearing off smart phones and saving up for encryption software, consumers can protect their privacy through old-fashioned political action, Calabrese said.

“Sometimes the simple and the old answer is the best one: Call your congressman,” he said. “You’re a citizen, not just a consumer. If you think what the government is doing is wrong, let the government know.

Obviously, I’m not going off the grid. I’ve written letters to congressmen and senators before about this or that issue only to get some sort of canned, token response. Been there, done that, might do it again to make it official, but I wouldn’t count on it getting to the people who matter, let alone having it matter. Like the man says, I’m a citizen and I think the government is doing wrong so I’m letting them know. Since the NSA seems so interested in my blogging anyway, why not just tell them here?

Dearest NSA,

First of all, thank you so much for your interest in my little, insignificant blog. I hope rather than believe you’ve enjoyed it because it’s more likely that your interest has to do with my anti-government, religious sentiments. So here I am, and there are thousands upon thousands more like me. Perhaps there are some without the religious fever, but nonetheless dedicated to liberty.

Privacy is something I’m dedicated to as well. The familiar saw goes, “If you’ve done nothing wrong, you’ve got nothing to hide.” There’s a problem with that though. Why are there locks on doors? Why do people wear clothes? Why don’t people just give out their credit card numbers, bank account numbers or other personal information? The fact is everyone hides something simply because everyone has done something wrong. People don’t freely share credit cards because they know what would happen if they did. I prefer to call it sin, but you, Dearest NSA, can call it anything you want, because in the final analysis it’s the same reason I would keep whatever personal information I choose out of your purview. Yes, I don’t trust you, and I shouldn’t trust you because you are no different than the rest of the race of man.  The first casualty of sin is trust.

Whether or not you use my personal information has no bearing on the fact that you have intruded into my personal life, not to mention the personal lives of millions of others. A little paranoia is a good thing. Privacy is rationally defensible. If you don’t need privacy, Dearest NSA, then take down the partitions from your toilet stalls and make urination and defecation an open activity for your employees to share. I’m personally no more interested in that than the apparent need politicians seem to have for your existence. If it were left to my authority every NSA facility would be razed and every employee, contractor or executive terminated. You can construe “terminated” to have a few meanings. Pick whichever seems most pleasant to you as it will have one understanding to me (1 Samuel 15:18).

Finally, you must already know I’m against you, but read it clearly from these lines. I’m against you because collectively you’re an evil. There is no good in you. Just as there is no good in any of the alphabet soup of agencies in government. Because the notion of government itself is an evil. So work your work and continue to promulgate your vile evil, Dearest NSA. I don’t believe in heros. I do believe Mr. Edward Snowden to be a patriot because of his adherence to liberty.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 06/27/2013, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

