Joel Osteen is stupid

Joel Osteen recently posted this to his Facebook account:

Even when we don’t measure up, God says, “That’s okay, I forgive you anyway.”

Well, lah-de-dah. That’s OK, I forgive you anyway? That’s what he thinks God says? What about the cross? What about Jesus His Son putting down His deity, humbling Himself and coming to earth as one of us? I forgive you ANYWAY?

Worse yet, that one post has 181,555 likes and 20,667 shares as of 0900hrs EDT today, and of course still counting. Imagine that almost 200,000 people like this. He not only has that number of following, but that kind of following. People who are dumb enough to consider this likeable. Yeah, it’s dumb because it shows a complete lack of simple intelligence when it comes to God, His nature and the things He’s done to redeem mankind. It’s more serious than a simple “That’s OK…” Over 20,000 people considered it worth repeating? That’s the dangerous part. Osteen is having this poison pill of theology propagated by his mindless minions.

What does it mean to “measure up”? If that refers to sin then the issue I have with this is that in one line it considers our sin so casually as to make it something like a simple mistake. It’s not. Whatever happened to the grievousness of sin? (Maybe I’ll do a post on that sometime.) Besides, if on the other hand it has something to do with abilities, God isn’t like that at all. It’s just one of those, “It’s alright. I’m not angry with you. Let me hold you and tell you it’ll be OK” kind of moments. People just don’t want God to be angry, even if they don’t believe He exists. For some people God has to be One who can be emotionally pacified.

Allow me to be clear about this, God is not a people-pleaser and He’s certainly not one to be placated. He’s not the sort that appreciates false intentions or motives. Politics is without a doubt not His game. As a matter of fact, He has no “game”. It seems there’s little understanding of God’s mercy. It depends upon the one who doesn’t “measure up” to understand their condition and acknowledge it before God. If we don’t “measure up” then the burden doesn’t rest upon God to allay His wrath to our deficiency, but it rests upon mankind to call upon God’s merciful nature in the hope that forgiveness is found. Osteen has a terribly corrupt understanding of mankind’s condition before a holy God, and he’s truly stupid if he’s thinks this is what “God says”.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 08/20/2013, in Church. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

