In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king

Anthony Weiner got into a verbal scuffle with a New York jewish voter the other day, and the dialog is characteristic for the modern day Christian witness.

The two got into a two-minute long shouting match after the voter called Weiner “disgusting” and told him to “stay out of the public eye.” “You don’t get to judge me because you have shown no sign that you are superior to me and you are not my God,” Weiner told the man. “I am not judging you,” the man said. “I’m telling you what you did is deviant behavior.” “You’re calling me deviant, that’s not judging me?” Weiner said.

Interestingly, this serves to demonstrate the kind of battle Christians have in a post-Christian world. Weiner’s argument is the kind of rebuttal commonly relied upon by non-believers against Christian morality. Weiner appeals to a moral superiority and God, but if he were to actually heed God’s moral precepts he would not have behaved in the way he did with the women of his encounters. True, the individual he argued with wasn’t morally superior, and therefore has no basis to judge Weiner from his own position. The fact is that none of us has any foundation to judge.

The only basis for Christian morality is God. The only basis for any morality is God. No one is morally superior to anyone else. Knowing what God’s morality is comes from the Bible. In one respect, Weiner is right. The individual arguing with Weiner can’t appeal to social norms or some sort of normative behaviour. Social norms are different throughout the world. Social constructs based upon human ideas of civility or morality are worthless. God is judge, and Weiner will be judged for his sins just every other person will be judged for theirs.

The appeal to Weiner should’ve been to his conscience before God. Are the stories about Weiner’s behaviour true, and if so then has he dealt with that before God? Weiner’s argumentative conduct seems to show that he hasn’t. If he had, his attitude should’ve been very different. In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king, not because he sees the sins of others, but because he sees his own.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 09/05/2013, in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

