Money doesn’t make you smart

Every so often there comes along an article about an individual the headline of which is interesting, but the content confirms the idea that it doesn’t take smarts to make huge amounts of money. Having huge amounts of it might even dull the senses…

An hour into my conversation with Peter Thiel the conversation turns, as it seems conversations with Thiel often do, to the question of death. ‘Basically,’ Thiel says earnestly, ‘I’m against it.

Thiel is a multi-billionaire who first invested in Facebook and started Paypal. He is a sought after venture capitalist with money to burn. I generally agree about the death thing. As a living human being I’m all for living, and resist dying, at least anytime soon. I try to do what I can to avoid it by not base jumping or eating hemlock or swimming with sharks. These sorts of things seem to me to be the most sensible ways to avoid the inevitability of dying. Mr. Thiel though seems to be at war with it.

…what he calls ‘the problem of death’ is a topic that he returns to often. ‘I think there are probably three main modes of approaching it,’ he says. ‘You can accept it, you can deny it or you can fight it. I think our society is dominated by people who are into denial or acceptance, and I prefer to fight it.’

As I consider the fact that I personally don’t know of anyone born in the 1800’s, that no one I know knows any such individuals, and that the phenomena of humans dying seems to happen with great regularity and consistency, I would consider it a reasonable presumption that fighting death is a futile battle indeed. Undeterred by this man’s tilting at windmills, I read on…

Thiel, whose net worth is reported to be $2.2 billion, is Silicon Valley royalty, and a singular figure even in that rarefied world. He is a gay practising Christian, a libertarian who has thrown money and support behind the political campaigns of the Republican John McCain and the Libertarian Ron Paul, and who sits on the steering committee of the Bilderberg Group

This is the world in which we live. There’s no cognitive dissonance, no logical breakdown, no intellectual tension between being a “practising [sic] Christian” and being a homosexual. An educated, financially wealthy, self made idiot. The world has too many people who think they can practice Christianity and homosexuality together.

Having money might impress the masses. Not me.

 

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 09/22/2014, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

