Land of the compulsory

Mid term elections occur today across these United States. Voter turnout, no doubt, will be higher than usual as the bi-factional ruling party stages its electoral show. No election has ever been more important to vote in. Sure…

What if the candidates gave their speeches, ran their ads, and the voter turnout was beyond dismal, say 5%? I often wonder what would it be like if they gave an election and no one voted. The lyrics to John Lennon’s “Imagine” comes to mind. You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. Voting isn’t a right, it’s a privilege given to validate the State. Nothing more.

Some are so brain fried by the voting mantra that they get the idea to compel the people to vote. Voting, of course, means freedom, especially when one isn’t free not to.

Many reforms could increase turnout, from same-day registration to voting on weekends. But the most basic is also the most appropriate: making voting mandatory. Here’s why.

How twisted does it have to get before the electorate realizes that they’re being manipulated? Politicoes use the chauvinism angle, or the political ideology angle to inspire participation. And when those angles fail to do the trick, force them to exercise their freedom?

Visit the polls today, America. Say hello to your neighbors, for that may be the best thing that happens while you’re there.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 11/04/2014, in Commentary, Government, Politics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

