Which edge of the sword?

Homogamy is but one head on the hydra Christianity faces in the 21st century. It alone is but another point of contention between darkness and light. Though the metaphor applies, there’s a better analogy, I believe.

A religious conservative broadcaster warned Christians to “prepare for martyrdom” if the U.S. Supreme Court sanctioned marriage equality.

Sandy Rios, director of governmental affairs for the American Family Association and host of a daily radio program, did not specify what she meant by that – but her context was clear.

“Homosexual marriage is going to bring about the tip of the spear of the battle we’re going to face,” Rios said Thursday to a gathering of religious right activists and pastors.

The “tip of the spear” it may be, but in my opinion it’s better likened to the double edged sword. The evil of sexual deviancy cuts two ways, it’s a question of which end of the sword one is on as it slices. The believer and unbeliever alike are both harmed, but in different ways

The world hates the Christian believer. No surprises there. Always have. Always will. They hated Christ, and if you’re a true Christian believer, they’ll hate you too. Americanized Christianity has forgotten that. The idea of unbelieving believers or Christian atheism is the vain attempt to make Christianity palatable. The nastiness of Christian intolerance is peeled away. Christianity at its core though is the offense of the world. Strange that the biblical definition of offense becomes lost to the modern Christian. Instead of being tolerated in the truest sense, offense is something to be avoided at all politically correct cost, even on the part of the believer.

Martyrdom is here. Much pain, anguish, torture and tribulation comes before it for the believer. The unsuspecting unbeliever isn’t aware of the damage being done. Blind as they are to the truth, they are blind to the harm.

Expect SCOTUS to legitimize homogamy. Thirty six other states have had judges overrule the will of their people. It’s been an oligarchy, not a republic, for some time. It’s been the rule of men and not of law. Christians may suffer martyrdom. Unbelievers will feel the pain too.

About elmoshangnaster

The name's a dodge simply because 1) on the internet I can be whomever I choose, and 2) I'm just paranoid enough to keep scoundrels and government out of my business and don't care to sort 'em out from the decent folk. My blog, my opinions. Don't like 'em? Sure, kindly tell me about your far-fetched, idiotic beliefs...kindly. In the end we'll neither of us change the others mind, but I will take the time to read your arguments if they're thought out in a rational fashion and not full of hyperbole. I'm a Christian human being. It's not a flavor or color preference, it's who and what I am. Don't like it? The above considerations apply. I'm not about to waste anyone's time or mine shoving Christianity down their gullet if they demonstrate even the least resistance. When someone's ready to hear I'm only too glad to share. The Gravatar? It's Jenny Lake in the Tetons near Jackson, WY. If God had a house that's where it would be.

Posted on 03/21/2015, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your thoughts on this! I couldn’t agree more. As a follower of Christ, I feel more and more judged by the world for living what I believe. Yet I could not be more happy knowing that I am persecuted for Christ’s sake. The world will always hate us, just as they hated Him. And strangely that gives me a lot of comfort.

Leave a Reply

